Examcrazy Logo
MBA in India CAT How to Prepare for Exams Technical Freshers Jobs
  Follow us|  twitter  Orkut  facebook
  Introduction & History
  Types of Indian Universities
  Colleges of Indian Universities
  Regulatory Authority-Higher Education
  Admissions in Indian Colleges and Universities
  Reservation and Quota System
  Domicile Requirement
  Admission Notifications
  B.E./B.Tech Admissions
  M.E./M.Tech Admissions
  Engineering Colleges of India
  B.E./ B.Tech Admissions Notifications
  M.E./ M.Tech Admissions Notifications
  MBA Admissions
  MBA Colleges In India
  MBA Admission Notification
Types of Indian Universities

Reservation & Quota System in India
Domicile Requirements in India
University & College Admissions
What is University Grants Commission (UGC)
What is AICTE?
Types of Colleges in Universities
Indian School System
Institutions deemed to be universities or simply "Deemed universities"
“Deemed Universities” are institutions that are conferred the status of a university because of their long tradition of teaching, or specialisation and excellence in a particular area o knowledge, e.g., Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics (Pune), Tata Institute of Social Sciences (Mumbai), Birla Institute of Technology & Science (Pilani). Recently NIT's are given status of Deemed Universities

They enjoy complete autonomy in respect of developing and innovating academic programmes on their own. The “deemed university” status is granted by the University Grants Commission (UGC) in accordance with Section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956 with the approval of the Department of Secondary and Higher Education in the Ministry of Human Resource Development.

Institutions of National Importance
The “Institutions of national importance” are established or so designated by Acts of Parliament. So far 12 such institutions had been established, which include the six Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) and the Indian Statistical Institute.

Unitary Universities
The unitary universities have a single campus and largely concentrate on postgraduate studies and research, though some may also have provision for undergraduate programmes, e.g., Aligarh Muslim University, Banaras Hindu University, Jawaharlal Nehru University. Some of the unitary universities have also colleges under them known as university colleges or constituent colleges.

Affiliating Universities
Affiliating universities generally have a central campus on which are located departments or schools or institutes that impart postgraduate centres located outside the campus in different districts. Affiliating universities may also have university colleges (within the campus) as well as constituent colleges (outside the campus). These universities have variable number of colleges affiliated to them. They are located in districts within the jurisdiction of the university as specified in the Acts. There are more than 9200 colleges affiliated to universities. Most of the Indian universities are of the affiliating type with the larger ones like Calcutta, Mumbai, Bangalore, Osmania, each having more than 250 affiliated colleges under its wings with enrolment of students exceeding one lakh. The University Grants Commission has now established the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) in accordance with Section 12CCC o the UGC Act, 1956, to assess the quality of education imparted by universities and colleges and grade them accordingly.

Subject Universities
While most of the “deemed universities” and “institutions of national importance” deal with specific subjects, there is now a new trend of establishing subject-oriented universities in various States. To begin with, one agricultural university was established in each State. All colleges of agriculture, forestry, veterinary and animal husbandry, and home science affiliated to different universities in the State, were transferred to this university as its constituent colleges. The number of agricultural universities is 28.

Open Universities
Another recent development is the establishment of exclusive Open Universities. Traditionally, a large number of universities, during the last three decades or so, had been offering correspondence courses (distance education or distance learning as the system is now known) for the benefit of those, who for various reasons cannot pursue higher studies in colleges and universities. While as many as 60 universities now offer correspondence courses, ten separate universities, called Open Universities, had been established in different states for providing education exclusively through distance learning mode.

What is the value of Engineering degree obtained under Distance education Mode
Posted by:-Hina Ajan Nabam.     On: Jun 11, 2014 - 2:59:45 PM
Bookmark or Email Report Abuse Post your comment
The University Grants Commission (UGC) provides financial assistance to eligible colleges which are included under Section 2(f)* and declared fit to receive central assistance (UGC grant) under Section 12 (B)** of UGC Act,
Posted by:-mayank.     On: Sep 13, 2013 - 9:34:35 PM
Bookmark or Email Report Abuse Post your comment
my computer academy can be member of you? if yes what is the process? I have my 4 centers in Goa
Posted by:-Mr. Prashant Vasudev Kudalkar.     On: Aug 9, 2013 - 6:09:19 PM
Bookmark or Email Report Abuse Post your comment
Thank you for sharing this important information, very clearly written Please let us know what is the source of this information so that they can get credit and so that we know how reliable this information is Also, we can then find the chapters 6 and 51 that are referenced in the text
Posted by:-Gayatri.     On: Mar 5, 2012 - 11:11:29 AM
Bookmark or Email Report Abuse Post your comment
what is section 2f ugc 1956
Posted by:-ashwani.     On: Sep 22, 2010 - 8:43:48 PM
Bookmark or Email Report Abuse Post your comment
Post your Comments on this topic
Name:   Email:
View more comments   1
  About us | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Contact us | Email: support@Examcrazy.com  
Copyright © 2014 Extreme Testing House, India. All rights reserved.  2446